The Moon and The Stars and The Still World Beyond

stock-footage-stars-twinkle-in-night-sky-birds-fly-in-trees

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Oasis.”

There aren’t many places that I’ve been in my 19 years of life. The farthest I’ve been by myself is down the street to my neighborhood park, but even that isn’t a regular visit. Usually, I go to my room and try to block out the noise that my family makes outside in the living room or in the kitchen. But when I need to breath, when I feel suffocated in my own thoughts and everything around me becomes too warm or stuffy to bear, I go outside.

Like last night I needed to take a breather. It was super windy and cold, but the moon was full and bright and the stars that were millions of miles away beckoned me follow. I don’t know what it is about being outside at night. Maybe it’s the silent sounds of the crickets and the wind. Maybe it’s the fresh air or the way that the whole world seems to take a breather, too.

At night, everything is still. The whole world is at a pause, relaxing all of the thoughts that run around through the morning. The stars, millions hanging over my head, remind me that there are millions of opportunities. The moon; oh, that great, bright, beautiful moon. It drags out the darkness that reaches my lungs and that floods through my veins. It makes me feel alive, free.

At night, everything is possible. The city dies down and thoughts trail off, but it is what makes me feel so secure, even though I am standing in the endless darkness.

Leave a Reply

