What is Love?

109b3cace4c93162d81fd03077069d1b

“The Buddhists say if you meet somebody and your heart pounds, your hands shake, your knees go weak, that’s not the one. When you meet your ‘soul mate’ you’ll feel calm. No anxiety, no agitation.” ~ Monica Drake

I came across this quote while looking around Pinterest earlier today and couldn’t get it out of my mind. And it stuck to me mainly because it goes along with something I am currently working on.

My English professor recently notified the class of a national poetry contest coming up and is encouraging the class to submit something. Even though I am not submitting anything this semester, I couldn’t stop thinking about the poetry aspect of writing.

My strengths are in narrative fiction, not poetry. But for my final portfolio for class, I’ve decided to challenge myself and include a poem.

I’ve been trying to write the first couple drafts of it before going in to my professor’s office hours this week so she can look it over and give me some feedback. But because my mind is all over the place, as usual, it’s taking longer than I thought.

So I want to ask you guys for some help and I want to get your opinions:

WHAT IS LOVE or WHAT IS YOUR DEFINITION OF LOVE

I have so many definitions of it but they are only from my perspective. So how do I know how to answer such a big question like that when I am only looking through one side of the mirror?

Please leave your response down below. I would love to hear what you guys think love is.

If there’s enough, I’ll combine them all in one post to share with others. (:

-Sabrina

Leave a Reply

