Love Wins. Sorry, Jerks.

image

Today something monumental happened. Something that made history. Something that made the world just a little more colorful.

The U.S. Supreme Court ruled for marriage equality. Gays, lesbians, bisexuals, and everyone else can now legally get married and be recognized in all 50 states. If that’s not a giant accomplishment, then I don’t know what is.

I woke up this morning, midday of course, and went straight to my news feed on my social media. Everything was flooded with pride and happiness and love and I got so overwhelmed with joy. I watched reaction videos of people in front of the Supreme Court as the news was announced and I couldn’t stop the tears that rolled down my cheeks or the smile that spread across my face.

A victory for love. To have this happen in my lifetime, in my generation, has me in awe. One long, slow fight for equal rights is now over.

I went out into my dining room and practically shouted “What a great day it is to be alive!” When my stepdad looked at me weird, I explained. He basically scoffed and said “Oh, that only matters if you’re going to marry a girl.”

Of course, there are still going to be those people who discriminate against gays and there will still be those who will fight against them. Is it so wrong to be happy for humans who deserve the same rights as other humans? And who’ve finally received them?

I am not gay. I am straight. No, this new change does not affect my life in any way. But love is love and everyone deserves the right to flaunt it around when they have it. To be recognized as a married couple everywhere they go.

The world will keep spinning.
You’re coffee maker will still brew coffee.
Your mail will still arrive and your alarm clock will still go off.

But there will be one more rainbow flag.
There will be more confident pride.
There will be more smiles and tears of joy.
There will be more weddings and more adopted kids going into great homes.

Keep on loving, keep on smiling. Congratulations on such a huge milestone! And congratulations to all the newlyweds and newly engaged couples.

Love wins.
-Sabrina

Leave a Reply

