Let Pumpkins and Ghosts Have Their Piece

free-autumn-winter-tree-wallpaper-download-the-c-e-ibackgroundz.com

Autumn is upon us! One more day away and finally- FINALLY- I can enjoy all things fall without worrying about it still being summer, not that I ever really did. Though living in California, the weather itself is still going to be well above Heat Wave for a few more weeks. But having lived here my whole life, I expect nothing less.

Yes, Autumn is my favorite season, my favorite time of year. It is when there are so many beautiful natural colors and the clothing and foods are better. Not to mention the best things that come out of Autumn: Pumpkin flavored everything, Thanksgiving, and Halloween.

Being the Autumn lover that I am, I always dread for Winter to come around, marking the end of my happy days. Don’t get me wrong, I love the cold and would take it over heat any day. I love the decorations and smell of Tamales and my abuelita’s hot chocolate coating the inside of the house. I love the gatherings and traditions that come along with Winter and Christmas.

But over the past couple of years, I’ve noticed just how dominate Christmas is. I’ve seen how it’s gone from a season at the end of the year to a mid-year celebration; “Christmas in June/July”. And now driving on my own for the past two and a half years, I’ve noticed just how EARLY Christmas songs begin to play on the radio.

I am a firm believer that each season should have its time to revel in its weather and holidays and whatever other celebrations come along with it. So when I hear Christmas music before Thanksgiving, and now Christmas movies ON HALLOWEEN (announced by the Hallmark Channel- not even the day after, no- ON), I can’t help but get really riled up about it.

Christmas can wait two more months, at least after Thanksgiving, before it starts shoving itself in front of everyone’s faces. I want to be able to enjoy everything that my season has to offer and I can’t do that completely when I have Christmas stalking me on my drive home, heavily breathing, waiting for me to have my guard down.

If we’ve learned anything from Tim Burton’s Nightmare Before Christmas,  its that holidays should STAY with their seasons. Halloween didn’t quite work out when it took over Christmas. I’m pretty sure Christmas won’t mix well with Halloween. At least not in my life, not if I have something to do with it.

So if there is a fairy god mother somewhere out there, my only wish is to put Christmas on a tighter leash and allow, in one days time, Autumn and Halloween to roam free!!!

*END RANT*

-Sabrina

Leave a Reply

