NaNoWriMo and the Mess I’ve Made

Let me just start off by saying that I am the worst at managing my time, prioritizing my responsibilities, and am the worst procrastinator I have ever encountered.

With that said, I signed up for National Novel Writing Month for this November. I’m really excited about it because it’ll push me to finish the novel that I’d been working on for the past six months! But at the same time, I think I am signing myself up for a downfall.

Not a downfall in writing the novel, but a downfall in all the situations I’m in in my life right now.

I haven’t been very motivated this semester in my studies, partly because I’m still taking my G.E classes and none of them really interest me. I haven’t been taking the studying thing seriously and have, probably tremendously, been failing in my Astronomy and Political Science classes.

To top it off, I have been working almost full-time shifts these past couple of weeks because we’ve been short on staff. So when I get home and find myself having free time, I just want to take a million naps.

When I do try to study or do any kind of school-related activities, that’s when my mind decides to wake up from its slumber and tells me to continue writing my story or to go on Wattpad (which I decided to finally start posting a story on there this week, as well).

Long story short, I’ve decided to do so many things at once that I am drowning by not knowing how to correctly handle it all. I know I should be focusing on my midterms and exams, but this semester, I’m not feeling the urgency to do any of that.

All I feel is the urgency to write in every possible outlet that I can.

This is going to be a very complicated last two months of the year.

-Sabrina

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo and the Mess I’ve Made

  1. Good luck with NaNo and everything else going on. I’m excited for NaNoWriMo but there’s so much I have to do before closing out 2015. I made a lot of plans for the year, too much in fact. So for 2016, I’m going to plan smarter. Stick to 1-2 huge, main writing priorities. With small weekly/monthly goals to help achieve them.

    Like

    1. That sounds like a really good idea. I was thinking of getting a calendar specifically for studying and writing schedules but I don’t even know how to go about organizing that either.
      Thanks. Good luck with NaNoWriMo to you too! (:

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

