7 Months until Goobye

I had Queen blasting in my car the other day on my way to work. It was one of those days where music just put me in an extremely upbeat mood. Plus, it’s Queen. How can one not get in a good mood with them?

Anyway, as I was singing along to the chorus of Princes of the Universe at a stoplight, I got this sudden realization that come next June, I won’t have a car to jam out to Queen in on my way to work anymore. It bummed me out for a bit but I kept myself from thinking about it because thinking about it usually made my head hurt.

Here’s a bit of background information: When I first got my driver’s license two and a half years ago, my sister and I shared my mom’s old 1997 Nissan Altima. It broke down on the regular and more often than not, I always found myself hitting myself as I entered the car. Certain features didn’t work, some parts were missing. But it was still a running car, a car that was the first car I ever had possession of even if it was more my sister’s than mine.

After a while, it continued to break down more frequently. My sister spent a lot of money changing the engine, taking it to get looked at and fixed, getting completely new parts. In the end, she got in an accident and decided that she’d already spent so much money trying to fix something that only kept getting broke. So we gave it up.

A week or two later, our mom and stepdad surprised us with new cars, one each. For me, it was a graduation present. For my sister, it was a “keep doing a good job in life” kind of present. We had them leased for two years. Which brings us back to the present- the two years are almost up and I honestly don’t know how I’m going to go about transportation.

Now, don’t go on thinking that we have tons of money to spend and that my parents could just buy me a new car, not leased this time. We don’t and I won’t/can’t ask them to, especially now that I’m almost 20 and have a job.

My plan right now is to save up and try to lease a used-car once the term is up. Or to try and buy myself an older used car. But I’m not even making enough in my one job to save up enough by then.

I was wondering if any of you have been in similar situations or how you got around to make buying a car a much more able situation.

It’s such a bittersweet reality. I’m going to be rocking out to Queen until I have to give Gary up (my younger sister named my car).

-Sabrina

Leave a Reply

