Merry Belated Christmas

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas yesterday! And if you don’t celebrate Christmas, I hope you had a wonderful day either way.

Growing up, Christmas was never the big day that was celebrated in my family. Christmas day has always been the day we just lay around the house, relax, and watch movies together. Or we just have family over and catch up from the last time we saw each other.

Christmas Eve was always the day to celebrate. I grew up in a Catholic and Hispanic household. Our traditions have always the same: we bring out baby Jesus and lay him to rest with the rest of the nativity set, tamale making (if we still have any left to put on the stove) and eating, playing loteria, drinking homemade hot chocolate, and listening to Christmas music. Then come midnight, we wish each other a Merry Christmas and kiss baby Jesus, welcoming him into the world. After, we gather around in the living room and open presents.

When I was younger, occasionally we’d drive over to Griffith park to see the Christmas lights that were put up every year. But they were shut down for a while and just recently moved into the L.A. Zoo. I haven’t had the chance to experience those lights yet.

But other than that, my Christmas Eve and Day have just always revolved around my family. Though I am a firm believer that every holiday should have it’s turn, like I said in a post earlier this year, Christmas still comes in close second for my favorite holiday. I always look forward to it every year.

How do you guys spend the holidays?

New Year’s is right around the corner and I have New Year’s day and eve off from work. I have no idea what I am going to do! Usually I just stay home. Ever since my parents decided to quit forcing my sister and I to join in on their coworkers’/friends’ Christmas parties a few years ago, the only option was to just stay home. I want to do something this New Year’s Eve but I don’t know what to do.

How do you guys plan on leaving 2015 and entering 2016?

-Sabrina

Leave a Reply

