Reading, Reading, and More Reading

In my last post I didn’t talk about my reading goals. I wanted that to be a separate post. While I was reorganizing my bookshelf yesterday, I found something to add to my reading goals. So it’s a good thing I waited to post this up.

When I was in honors English my sophomore year of high school, I had one of the best teachers I’d ever had. Even now that I’ve had college professors, none have surpassed his greatness. Don’t get me wrong, his class was challenging and he didn’t kid around with tests and literary devices. But it was the fact that he was so passionate about English and the fact that he put so much emphasis on reading that made me respect him more.

Anyway, at the beginning of the semester, he handed us a page filled front to back of “college-bound reading books”. This contains classics and short stories, even poetry that I’ve read this past semester in my English class. And because I don’t have an English class this semester, due to finishing all my G.E English classes and not being able to take any upper division classes until next fall, I’ve decided to make it a goal to read AT LEAST five books from the list. In no particular order, they are:

  1. Lord of the Rings by  J.R.R. Tolkien
  2. Emma by Jane Austen
  3. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  4. Catch 22 by Joseph Heller
  5. ???

I haven’t decided on which other book I want to try and tackle this year from this list. But these are the ones that have intrigued me for some time now. Have any of you ready any of these? Which one should I attempt to read first?

I haven’t read anything since school let out because of this reading slump that I’ve been in. I’ve bought and received many interesting books this past month from my birthday and Christmas and I am definitely going to push myself to read at least three before I have to go back to school at the end of the month.

So many of the books on my TBR (to be read) list are young adult fiction and fantasy. Because of this, I want to shoot for trying to read more contemporary ( I’m a sucker for romance and corny novels) and books outside of my normal genre. Another reason why this list of books comes in handy for this year.

By the end of the year, I want to have read at least fifty twenty-five books (later edited after a little reality check). I’m not aiming higher because of how busy and hectic I know this year is going to be. I don’t know how much time I’ll have to read. Also because my priority is mainly going to be to write and get through the first draft of this story I’ve been working on.

Add “books to help my writing” on to that list, too.

Happy reading!

-Sabrina

4 thoughts on “Reading, Reading, and More Reading

      1. It’s about this girl that gets locked in a stasis tube by her parents and she wakes up to a changed world with everybody that she knew dead already. She has to face this machine that is high tech since this is kind of taking place in the future and the machine is trying to kill her. The machine was actually programmed by her parents to do so and the reader learns about that later on too. There is actually a sequel to it too but, I just recently found out about it so I’m going to read it soon! So excited for it

        Like

Leave a Reply

