Long Locks No More

image

I finally cut my hair!

I know the phrase “new year, new me” is extremely played out, but I feel like it’s the only thing I can say other than “new year, new haircut”.

I’ve had long hair, down to my belly button, for about two years now. My hair takes a really long time to grow out so I never went further than a trim because it would take about a year to get it long again. I LOVED my long hair! My hair is naturally wavy/curly kind (picture on the left), and I loved how it looked when it was long. It didn’t poof out too much, which for the way my hair normally got when it was dry, was a plus.

Recently, I started to get annoyed with it. It always got stuck in things. At work it’d get suck on the hangers; at home, it’d get stuck on the back of the dining room chairs. It would always get caught when I gave my friends hugs or I’d always end up laying on it in a way that would end up pulling it. Putting it in a pony tail was really the only thing I ever did with it. I don’t have a lot of patience, so doing something with it every day was mainly out of the question.

It wasn’t until I was looking at old pictures of the past couple of years that I finally decided to chop it off. I literally looked EXACTLY the same from when I was in high school, and that’s not something a 20 year old college student cares to hear, or even see.

My grandma and my hair stylist were double asking me if I was sure I wanted to cut it so short. I felt like it was time for a change and I knew that if I waited any longer, I’d convince myself not to cut it.

Now my challenge with it is going to be how often I’m going to keep it natural. Like I said, my hair poofs up. I had it natural today and it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. But it’s definitely a puff ball hugging my head.

Welp, too late to turn back now.

-Sabrina

2 thoughts on “Long Locks No More

Leave a Reply

