The Death in My Outline

Writing A Story

Step 1: Outline the story

Attempt 1,000: FAILURE


Let’s get this out of the way: I SUCK AT OUTLINING.

I’ve come to realize that this is why I don’t get too far into my writing or end up jumping back and forth from beginning scene to ending scene to Book 2 middle. I’ve pretty much mastered jumping scenes in my five years of serious writing. Outlining has been the one thing I can’t get through.

I’ve been intently writing this one story for about a year now. My progress?

Who falls in love with who: Check

Any smut scenes: Check

Big plot reveal: Check

Book 2-Chapter 1: Check

Major character death: Check

All the small details that lead to the bigger areas of the plot: still on page 1

I have attempted to outline this story about ten times and the only things I tend to fill out are the main beginning points and the ending points. I get stumped after that and end up writing around it instead. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve tried to focus on the middle areas of the book and can’t find anything to fill it with. I usually end up writing another romance scene or another fight scene.

Right now, I’m sitting at my dining table, typing this post with another outline attempt laying on the table next to my laptop. It reads Outline: Part 1 . . .

Then nothing else is written after that.

It’s a perfect Sunday evening. It’s raining outside and I don’t have to go in to work until 7 p.m. I’m betting myself that I can’t fill this outline out by then based on all the attempts I’ve tried in the past month.

I’d really appreciate any advice on how to battle this serious case of failure to outline.

-Sabrina

Leave a Reply

