Creating My Own Reality

I am officially free for the summer!

I finished all of my finals last week and have been allowing my body and brain to relax this whole week. Let me just tell you, as much as I enjoy not being in school right now, I’m already getting restless by not having something to do every day.

So far, I have read a few pages of a book I just got called Adulting: How To Become an Adult in 468 Easy (Ish) Steps by Kelly Williams Brown. I’ve wanted to purchase the book for a few months now but never actually decided to spend my money on it. On my way home the other day from a job interview, I decided to stop by Barnes and Noble, which my wallet was not very pleased about.

This whole week that I’ve been out of school and barley getting any hours for work, I’d been feeling like I was just sitting around and letting my life pass me by. It felt like I could have been doing so much more than just catching up on episodes of Reign (which, WTH? Why can’t the fourth season be out so I know what the heck is going on??). Seeing the book on one of the display tables, and it being the only copy left, felt like I was meant to come across it that day.

The book is basically a guide on how to be “grown-up”. How to save money and how to move, or how to get through a break up, etc. There’s so much that I want to do that I’ve just felt stuck in because the work I have doesn’t have guaranteed weekly hours. This week I am literally only getting six hours. SIX!  So I’ve been on the search for a new job. It’s been a thought in my head for about a few months, but reading Adulting made me realize that intentions, if not seen through, are as invalid as not doing anything at all.

I’ve been intending to apply to other jobs and look for other opportunities but never actually did it. It didn’t matter that it’s what I wanted to do. Not going through with it was just another version of me not actually doing it.

So here I am, at the end of my first week off from school and taking a break from filling out online applications to tell you all that I’m back and really trying to grow up in certain aspects of my life. It’s time that I start being serious about making changes in my life that will benefit me in the long run. If not, at least make me happy.

Hopefully I reel something in, soon. My wallet definitely needs it.

 

-Sabrina

P.S. Now that school is out, posts on here will be a regular weekly again. I’m super excited to be able to write to you guys again! Plus, I’ll be able to catch up on reading and making a serious writing schedule. It’s time that I do that!

Leave a Reply

